I love my eggs over easy.  Everyone else in my family moans, groans and frowns every time I sop up that delicious yellow goo with my buttered toast.  My wife (via her Twitter friend @MrBradG) introduced me to a great way to prepare my favorite breakfast: Bird’s Nest.

Bird's Nest

Bird's Nest

I’ve learned the dish has many colorful names, depending on where you are from:   egg in a boat, egg in a hole, egg in a frame, egg in a poke, egg in a basket, bird’s nest, toad in a hole and one-eyed jack.  It was also featured prominently in the movie V for Vendetta.

Bird’s Nest

  • 4 slices Bread
  • 4 larges Eggs
  • 2-3 tablespoons Butter or margarine

Spread both sides of the bread with butter. In the center of the bread, cut out a 1 1/2- to 2-inch circle (I used a cookie cutter). In a skillet, preferably nonstick, over medium-high heat, place bread, the rounds also.   Carefully break the egg into the hole, being careful not to break the yolk. Cook until the egg solidifies on the bottom, 1 to 2 minutes. Carefully flip with a large spatula and cook until the underside is golden and egg is cooked to desired doneness, 1 to 3 minutes. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Serve immediately.

